Discovery… we have a pear tree!

We discovered something neat a few weeks ago, we have a pear tree on our homestead. One that is already producing and has been here for awhile.  We are still in the planning stages of where I want to put everything and getting ready to add to our homestead.  I have started researching how to prune fruit trees. We are planning on getting some fruit and maybe some nut trees, but I want to do my research before we add some.

wp-1472436435899.jpg

Want to hear a funny story about how I discovered I had a pear tree? We were standing outside talking about placement of the kids trampoline and swingset, when I told my husband- We should just cut down that tree and get rid of it. He looks at me and says that’s a fruit tree- I looked at him like he was crazy. So I walked over to it and we discovered it was a pear tree. So needless to say I tried one- it was so sweet and delicious. I am still trying to figure out if it is a canning tree or not. It was sweet, but the pears were harder and didn’t get soft like the ones you buy in the grocery store. But tasted just as good, well better.

wp-1472436447478.jpg

And now I want to cry since I had the kids pick a bunch and fill a five gallon bucket up- well this momma had a brain fart and the bucket got left in the rain, so they all rotted. I do share it right now with the squirrels, whom seem to only want to eat one bite, and knock them onto the ground. Next year I will be more prepared to get them and actually can some or make some preserves. My wishlist of supplies is growing.

By the way, if you have some information about what kind of pears and some pruning help- go ahead and contact me. I am always up for learning!

Leave a Reply

