In the Christmas Spirit..

For the past several years, I have not been in the Christmas Spirit. It wasn’t just life had got me down- I had to force myself to enjoy time with the kiddos- and force myself to attend holiday gatherings.

Fast forward to this year- I am not sure what has changed- other than we have our own house- which is the sole reason I think that I am like Buddy the Elf! I have been a Grinch for several years. I feel like the holidays now- I want to celebrate and decorate and enjoy the fun- and make traditions!

Since I had to work the day after Thanksgiving- and traditionally that is when we put up the Christmas Tree and decorate it- we put it up on Saturday after Thanksgiving. I do need to send a big shout out to my sister-in-law ( they aren’t married- but may as well be) for helping me get everything out of the shed. (A reorganization is coming soon- so I can label all the totes and boxes in there.) I had hubby help me put up the tree, and Sheldon and I went through all the totes of decorations. Here’s where the disappointment lay- I am missing half of my decorations and my ornaments. We had our own house 7 years ago but the floors were falling in- it was built in the 40’s- we didn’t have the money to fix it- and Hubby was driving over an hour to work- so when I had a car wreck- we moved back in with his parents. We got everything in storage- but it was in 3 or 4 different places- oh boy! So anyways- I thought I had pulled out the decorations- nope- 3 totes of craft materials from when hubby was a little kid (I had acquired these from my mother-in-law). Sheldon and I donated 4 kitchen size bags from cleaning out the totes- I can not hold on to things for so long- and I doubt she will miss them as she probably doesn’t remember I had them. (We are cleaning out her storage soon- that is a story for another day.)

So in this post- you will get to see my beautiful Christmas tree- even though I need the rest of my ornaments! When I get the rest of the decorations up, I will show you the rest.

wp-1480640915445.jpg

Tooty decided she wanted a tree in her room- and I had bought some decorations to use them and have a tree at work- but alas- I let the little kid in me make her happy!

wp-1480640920175.jpg

Enjoy and Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! I am totally in the spirit!

 

Leave a Reply

