Awesome Gift y’all!

My stepmom and dad usually send us an Amazon gift card for Christmas. It is hard to choose what you want to buy though? I ordered a pair of rain boots that don’t fit- so now I must look for another, it is hard when it’s rainy season for me to go feed and do animals since I do not have an appropriate footwear. I may have to buy a men’s pair because I have feet the size of an alligator, well I wear a women’s 12, and need wide. Do you know how hard it is to find cute shoes? Right now I think I must give up on cute though and go practical.

So I looked over Amazon and decided to order a dehydrator. I have been wanting one for awhile- and have had this in my wishlist for some time. I am excited to be able to use it, and am looking up recipes for some things now. If you have any tips or tricks- please comment! I am always excited to learn things!

wp-1483883631540.jpg

I did get a fruit roll sheet- and if the girls decide they like them- I will look into purchasing some more. The mesh screens are supposed to be for blueberries and tomatoes- I read the reviews. I can’t wait to take it out of the box and try it! It took me awhile looking online to find one I liked that was a good starter in my price range. Look forward to some dehydrating adventures in the future! See links below for purchase details.

Mesh Screen 

Fruit Roll Tray

Dehydrator

Did you get any awesome homestead gifts for Christmas?

Disclosure: I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for me to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

7 thoughts on “Awesome Gift y’all!

  1. Awesome gifts! I need to get a new dehydrater, too. We got one about 8 years ago at a garage sale for $1, and it worked great for a long time, but wouldn’t you know it’s finally kicked the bucket 😛 I’d love to get a freeze-dryer at some point, but I think I’ll have to wait a few years until they’re much more affordable.

    Also, for cute rainboots I have a pair of Bogs, which I love, but for my workaday, out tending the garden and the animals boots, I have a pair of men’s Muck boots. They are the best! I got mine at Costco, but Amazon has them for a good price, too. My husband and I love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes to everyone who said Bogs. They can be expensive, but if you scour Amazon, you can probably find some on sale. They can run $60-120, but are definitely worth the investment. The ones I have are my all purpose boots, including for cold Wisconsin winters. I’ve had mine for almost a year, so I don’t know how long they will hold out.
    Dehydrating is really neat to be able to do. I don’t do enough of it. I think the only “tip” I can think of is that I have yet to over-dry anything. Longer is better. If you aren’t sure if it’s dry enough, it’s probably not. Fruit leather might be a little different, if you go too long, it will be crunchy instead of chewy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

