2017 Goals- May Check-In

So on this post here, I listed my goals for 2017. We will probably be adding more as the year goes on- but here is April’s check- in since today is May 1st! Did you set goals? How are you doing? See the updates in red! Check out my progress- January Check-In  February Check-In March Check-In April Check-In

  1. Personal- Quit Smoking. It will save money and my health. This year I am dead serious on quitting smoking. I am also trying to make the switch from caffeine or other drinks to strictly water. That is a slow progression as I tend to get migraines when I lose the caffeine.
  2. Quail-Finish the quail coop. We did get started with the coop- but it needs to be finished. We are also looking at buying some more babies. I would like to raise and sell eggs/babies.
  3. Chickens- Build a bigger chicken coop- and get some more chickens. I have 2 separate breeds, and have not decided whether I want roosters or not. ( I have 28 chickens total now- and are planning some chicken coop/run expansion.)
  4. Gardening- Start an herb garden. Plant some fruit trees. Start some seeds and a small garden to manage so we can save more money. ( The garden is growing great- and I am learning some!)
  5. Small Home Organization and Projects- Organize the shed. Clean out the rest of our stuff from my in-laws. Declutter a lot of stuff. We have a few renovation projects to complete, which we already have the supplies for.
  6. Save More Money!
  7. Food Preservation- I got a gift card for Christmas- so I bought a dehydrator. We will start with that. I am also stocking up on canning supplies so I can start with some water bath canning. I have a flat top stove- so we have to look and see if our model will allow us to can, otherwise I will find something else to do. ( I did some canning for the first time!)
  8. Cook From Scratch- Right now I am working on getting rid of some premade things in the pantry, but we will start slow with that and making our own bread.
  9. Rain Barrel- Get the rain barrel set up. This does involve buying some gutter guards- but we have material to build a stand for it to sit on.
5 thoughts on “2017 Goals- May Check-In

  1. I’m horrible about setting specific goals. I’ve tried in the past, but have just found that going with the flow works better for me. Of course that results in some things not getting done that should, but I like your idea of posting your goals so you have a reference point and can check your progress. I might try that at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

