DIY- Goat Hay Feeder

Hubby and I have been talking about a hay feeder for the goats, and finally got one built!

Pinterest is where I get all my good ideas y’all! So to whomever originally posted this- thanks! I have to give credit where credit is due- this is not my idea- I just executed it!

wp-1496094173941.jpg

Goaties need hay- and they don’t want it wet- or if it has touched the ground! I never knew goats could be so picky- mine are y’all- mine are! I tried to feed them corn on the cobb- they don’t like it. They don’t like strawberry tops either!

To make the feeder- we used an old plastic tote that was warping. It can hold 2 to 3 flakes. We nailed a 2 x 4 piece that we had laying around to the pallet wall- and then screwed the tote on. If you look at the back- it has a little of an angle because I need to be able to place the lid on and off- you don’t want the hay wet!

wp-1496094177215.jpg

It took a minute to figure out what it was!

wp-1496094180832.jpg

We absolutely love it!

2 thoughts on “DIY- Goat Hay Feeder

  1. That’s a great idea! We will have to give it a try this winter. My goats are also very picky. We actually have to mow their pen as they won’t eat the grass/weeds in there. They graze in the paddock we added on, but they still pick out just the varieties they like. They really like reed canary and milkweed and keep it very short.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

