Potato Bag- Part 1

So I ordered 2 potato bags to try and grow some potatoes. I am pretty sure I made some mistakes- so here it is- we tried to harvest some potatoes- since the rain battered the plants down- they didn’t get to flower. Mistake number one- Make sure the potato plants flower first!

20170707_181837

I did start another bag- and placed less potatoes in there- mistake number 2- don’t put a lot of potatoes in there- they end up rotting! So we are going to try this new bag and learn from the mistakes and go a little different!

20170708_151459

This was our harvest- most of them rotted! I only got 2 baby purple potatoes, and the reds were disintegrated! The germans seemed to do the best! Learn from the mistakes and work better next time! PLAN, PLAN, PLAN.

Mistake number 3- I added more dirt to cover too soon and didn’t give all the potato plants time to grow.

Let’s see how this next bag grows! I know I planted them late- but we can still see!

Any potato tips for me?

4 thoughts on “Potato Bag- Part 1

  1. I’ve never grown in bags before, but I had a lot of success in a homemade potato tower made of wood. The most important thing I found was that the potatoes preferred a sandy soil – half compost and half sand. I don’t think they need to flower before you harvest, but definitely only a few potatoes per bag sounds good! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

